Hoyas Unlimited announced Thomas A. Wong, O.D. (C’82) as the 2013 recipient of the J. Gregory Carroll Award for outstanding service to Hoyas Unlimited and Georgetown Athletics. Dr. Wong will receive the award at The Annual Fund for Georgetown Athletics and Hoyas Unlimited’s 27th Annual Athletic Recognition Event on Friday, September 27.

The J. Gregory Carroll Award recognizes the stewardship and dedication of those who have given of themselves in an extraordinary manner in support of Georgetown’s athletic program. The conferral of the J. Gregory Carroll Award fosters leadership, community and campus volunteerism among alumni, parents, and friends of Georgetown University Athletics. Hoyas Unlimited is a volunteer board with a mission to support Georgetown Athletics through fundraising, and membership in individual sports’ support clubs.

“Dr. Wong has been a tireless advocate and ambassador for Georgetown Athletics, promoting membership and fundraising on behalf of Hoyas Unlimited,” Chris McArdle B’93, President of Hoyas Unlimited, said. “He’s an inspiring leader and example as to how others can carry the spirit and tradition of Georgetown athletics,”.

Dr. Wong represents the Hoya Hoop Club in cities throughout the world. He has served on the Hoyas Unlimited Board of Directors since 2006, the Georgetown Alumni Association Board of Governors since 2008, and serves as the Vice Chair of Communications for the Board of Governors. As a board member of the Hoya Hoop Club for more than 10 years, he launched social media channels to promote and cover events. Dr. Wong’s enthusiasm has been contagious, as Hoya Hoop Club’s Facebook page (3,000+ followers), Twitter Feed (1,500+ followers), and Pinterest Group engage a broad community of supporters. He has also served in roles on the nomination committee.

Beyond his support for athletics, Dr. Wong embodies the Jesuit tradition of living a life in service to others, volunteering his professional services to the John Thompson III Foundation and the Washington Jesuit Academy for the last eight years. He is active in regional Georgetown alumni clubs and helps prepare student-athletes for the work force by volunteering his time in mock interviews. Dr. Wong is a 1982 graduate of Georgetown College. He is the Chief of Adult & Pediatric Primary Eye Care Services at SUNY College of Optometry.

The Athletic Recognition Event will be held at Leo J. O’Donovan Hall on Georgetown’s campus, and will begin at 6:30 p.m. with a cocktail reception followed by an awards ceremony, dinner and entertainment. In addition to the J. Gregory Carroll Award, several student-athletes, supporters and coaches will be honored, highlighted by the Robert A. Duffey Scholar-Athlete Award being presented to former men’s soccer standout Andy Riemer (C’12).

To register for the 27th Annual Athletic Recognition Event, please click here.

If you cannot attend the Athletic Recognition Event, but would like to make a donation in an awardees’ honor, please click here.

1) Click Sign Up
2) Select your Donation Level and type in the name of the awardee you are making a gift for
3) Fill out your personal and payment information

2012 Bruce W. Simmons B’69
2011 Alfred R. Bozzo, Jr. B’85
2010 Karen M. Schneider N’76
2009 David A. Goracy C’71
2008 Andrew T. Schreiber F’86
2007 Joseph L. Guarriello B’71, L’74
2006 Maura W. Devaney N’76
2005 David M. Don F’93, L’96
2004 John J. McDonald F’88
2003 Andrew Pradella F’71
2002 Michael E. Karam F’72, L’76, L’81
2001 Peter J. Farrell C’82
2000 Conan N. Louis I’73, MS’78, L’86
1999 John J. Forster B’70
1998 Charles W. McGovern C’63
1997 John K. Reagan B’84
1996 Joseph D. Lonardo C’69
1995 Thomas J. Elliott C’71, L’74
1994 John D. Wooters, III C’75
1993 John J. Reilly C’63, M’67
1992 Rory F. Quirk C’65, MA’71, L’80
1991 Francis T. Lacey B’67, L’70, L’78
1990 Frederick H. Pennekamp F’70
1989 John C. Courtin C’70, L’78
1988 Brian A.McGuire C’72, Andrew W. Kentz C’78, L’83, S’12
1987 Patrick J. McArdle C’72, L’77

Georgetown Athletics Annual Fund

Leave a Reply